Détail de la notice
Titre du Document
Härmän puukko: Kansanperinnettä ja taidekäsityötä
The puukko knife of Härmä
The sheath-knife, or puukko, is an element of Finnish material culture and heritage. For the Finns it has been both an important general-purpose tool and a personal weapon. At present, the old ornamental puukko types are primarily gift items and collectibles. The knives are mostly made on an industrial basis, but a few knife-maker families have preserved the traditional crafts skills up to the present day. The Härmä puukko knife is a South Ostrobothnian type with a history extending from the mid-19th century to the 2000s. The master knife-makers of the Rannanjärvi family have made the Härmä knives by hand for four generations. The basic design has a sheath of two parts, housing a larger knife (isopuukko) and a smaller one (pikkupuukko). The Härmä knife was made in four sizes, known as Pikkupuukko (small knife), Naistenpuukko (women's knife), Normaalipuukko (normal knife) and Anssin Jukka (named after a legendary folk hero). The ferruled Härmä knife was a harmonious design, in which the leather sheath and the wooden handle were richly decorated with ferrules. The brass ferrules bore a great number of engravings and ornamental patterns were set in the sheath. The sheath and the handles were also painted in black and red. The ornamental appearance of the Härmä knife bears witness to both a respect for the puukko knife and an appreciation of the craftsmanship of its makers. The making of the knife required a great deal of time, and special attention was paid to the qua
Suomen muinaismuistoyhdistys
ISSN : 0355-1806
Suomen museo A. 2000, vol. 107, pp. 65-86 [22 pages]
Pour les membres de la communauté du CNRS, ce document est autorisé à la reproduction à titre gratuit.
Pour les membres des communautés hors CNRS, la reproduction de ce document à titre onéreux sera fournie sous réserve d’autorisation du Centre Français d’exploitation du droit de Copie.

Pour bénéficier de nos services (strictement destinés aux membres de la communauté CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique), de l'ESR français (Enseignement Supérieur et Recherche), et du secteur public français & étranger) :