Détail de la notice
Titre du Document
Hydroxyapatite thin films synthesized by pulsed laser deposition and magnetron sputtering on PMMA substrates for medical applications
Functionalized implants represent an advanced approaching in implantology, aiming to improve the biointegration and the long-term success of surgical procedures. We report on the synthesis of hydroxyapatite (HA) thin films on polymethylmetacrylate (PMMA) substrates - used as cranio-spinal implant-type structures - by two alternative methods: pulsed laser deposition (PLD) and radio-frequency magnetron sputtering (MS). The deposition parameters were optimized in order to avoid the substrate overheating. Stoichiometric HA structures were obtained by PLD with incident laser fluences of 1.4-2.75J/cm2, pressures of 30-46.66 Pa and 10 Hz pulses repetition rate. The MS depositions were performed at constant pressure of 0.3 Pa in inert and reactive atmospheres. SEM-EDS, XRD, FTIR and pull-out measurements were performed assessing the apatitic-type structure of the prepared films along with their satisfactory mechanical adhesion. Cell viability, proliferation and adhesion tests in osteosarcoma SaOs2 cell cultures were performed to validate the bioactive behaviour of the structures and to select the most favourable deposition regimes. For PLD, this requires a low fluence of 1.4J/cm2, reduced pressure of water vapours and a 100 C/4 h thermal treatment. For MS, the best results were obtained for 80% Ar+20% O2 reactive atmosphere at low RF power (∼75 W). Cells grown on these coatings exhibit behaviour similar to those grown on the standard borosilicate glass control: in
ISSN : 0921-5107
Pour les membres de la communauté du CNRS, ce document est autorisé à la reproduction à titre gratuit.
Pour les membres des communautés hors CNRS, la reproduction de ce document à titre onéreux sera fournie sous réserve d’autorisation du Centre Français d’exploitation du droit de Copie.

Pour bénéficier de nos services (strictement destinés aux membres de la communauté CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique), de l'ESR français (Enseignement Supérieur et Recherche), et du secteur public français & étranger) :