Détail de la notice
Titre du Document
An improved method for single cell isolation of prokaryotes from meso-, thermo- and hyperthermophilic environments using micromanipulation
ISHØY Thomas ; KVIST Thomas ; WESTERMANN Peter ; ...
This study presents an improved system that enables isolation of single viable prokaryotic cells from a mixture of cells. The system is based on an inverted microscope, a microinjector and a micromanipulator. The isolatedcell is captured in a microcapillary from a volume of 400 μl and transferred to an appropriate growth medium. Validation of the system was performed using two fluorescent strains: Pseudomonas putida expressing red fluorescent protein (DsRed), and Escherichia coli expressing green fluorescent protein (GFP). A mixture (100:1) of the constructed fluorescent strains was subjected to isolation experiments and nine out of ten individually isolated cells yielded axenic cultures of E. coli. Upon construction and validation, the system was used to isolate and subsequently cultivate axenic cultures of the thermophilic Archaeon Metallosphaera sedula and the hyperthermophilic Archaeon Sulfolobus solfataricus from enriched hot spring samples. The high efficiency of single-cell isolation and cultivation demonstrated over a range of temperatures-90% (30°C), 85% (70°C) and 95% (80°C)-from different environments is probably due to the elimination of osmotic stress and limitation of temperature fluctuations during the isolation process, as a result of the large sample volume from which the cells are isolated.
PMID : 16034558 ISSN : 0175-7598 CODEN : AMBIDG
Applied microbiology and biotechnology A. 2006, vol. 69, n° 5, pp. 510-514 [5 pages] [bibl. : 22 ref.]
Pour les membres de la communauté du CNRS, ce document est autorisé à la reproduction à titre gratuit.
Pour les membres des communautés hors CNRS, la reproduction de ce document à titre onéreux sera fournie sous réserve d’autorisation du Centre Français d’exploitation du droit de Copie.

Pour bénéficier de nos services (strictement destinés aux membres de la communauté CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique), de l'ESR français (Enseignement Supérieur et Recherche), et du secteur public français & étranger) :