Détail de la notice
Titre du Document
Die Stettin-Frage: Die KPD, die Sowjetunion und die deutsch-polnische Grenze 1945
The Stettin question. The German Communist Party, the Soviet Union and the German-Polish border in 1945
In August 1945, the three allied powers USA, USSR and Great Britain agreed on the Potsdam Conference that in Northeastern Germany the Oder River was to mark the borderline between the Soviet-occupied zone and the area under Polish administration east of it. Accordingly, Stettin (in Polish: Szczecin), situated west of the Oder, ought to have been part of the Soviet-occupied zone (SBZ). In fact, however, contrary to these regulations, on 21 September 1945, the Soviet authorities in Mecklenburg-West Pomerania and a Polish government commission agreed on handing over Stettin to Poland, after the city had already been passed over to the Polish administration on 5 July, which the Western allies found out during the talks in Potsdam the same day. To this day, Stettin had been governed by German municipal authorities under the strict surveillance of the occupying forces. At the same time, representatives of the Polish communists tried to gain administrative supremacy over the city, installing their own authorities. Twice, however, on 16 May and 12 June 1945, this Polish administration was dissolved by the Soviets and expelled from the city, though it had been informed (on 3 June 1945) that Stalin wanted Stettin to belong to Poland. During this time, the German administration continued to exist, and even on 26 June 1945 the occupation authorities told Erich Wiesner, a German communist appointed mayor, to prepare further measures for a normalization of life in the city. Two days later,
ISSN : 0948-8294
Zeitschrift für Ostmitteleuropa-Forschung A. 2002, vol. 51, n° 1, pp. 25-63 [39 pages]
Pour les membres de la communauté du CNRS, ce document est autorisé à la reproduction à titre gratuit.
Pour les membres des communautés hors CNRS, la reproduction de ce document à titre onéreux sera fournie sous réserve d’autorisation du Centre Français d’exploitation du droit de Copie.

Pour bénéficier de nos services (strictement destinés aux membres de la communauté CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique), de l'ESR français (Enseignement Supérieur et Recherche), et du secteur public français & étranger) :